I was watching a Family Guy clip recently where Peter is asked by Lois to give the nurse the birth certificate, after Meg is born. This cutaway scene comes after Meg is referred to as Megan by school friends:

Ruth: Hey, Megan.

Meg Griffin: Oh, hey, guys. Wait, did you just call me Megan?

Ruth: That’s your name, isn’t it?

Meg Griffin: Well, actually, “Meg” is short for something else.

[cutaway to Lois giving birth]

Lois Griffin: [giving him the birth certificate] Peter, would you give this to the nurse?

Peter Griffin: Uh-huh.

[changing her name to “Megatron”]

Peter Griffin: [with a giggle, he hums the Transformers theme] Robots in disguise.

It’s a funny bit and besides me going down the YouTube rabbit hole looking at old Transformers cartoons (I used to watch them in the 80’s), I remembered a conversation with friends after their baby boy was born. They were talking about a similar moment as in the Family Guy clip where they’d agreed on the name, and whilst mum lay resting in bed dad had for a brief moment considered the opportunity he had to bestow their eldest with a hip hop artist inspired middle name.

Through our journey my husband and I have been discussing what we’d name our kids. Now I don’t think we’d name one Megatron or Ye but it sure has been a lot of fun thinking about ones that we could bestow on our future progeny. Having already pondered a few (we’re both from different countries, himself is from England and me from Ireland) we’d love a combination of names from our two cultures, an old English name with an unpronounceable Irish name that will be a challenge to any American (no offence ^_^).

RM

#surrogacy

Blogging about a surrogacy journey my husband and I began in 2021.